Petite Fashion Challenge #6

Eep I’m so late! Sorry, folks. I went online after class today and realized that my post didn’t go up last night!
*head smack*
Newbie blogger, right over here!

Petite Fashion Challenge #6:

This month, the challenge is hosted by fabulous Jess of Stylepint.

Dress Up Your Basics: . For this challenge, start off with a jeans and tee basic look (it can be any style or color) and dress it up to show off your personal style with accessories, jewelry, and whatever you’d like to add.

My first petite fashion challenge! I’m all a-tingle!
I wear jeans most days, but I try to pair them with a top a bit dressier than just a t-shirt (unless I’m going to throw a sweatshirt over it… you know those days!)

This is my starting point:

The T-shirt is one of the many super cheap T-shirts from Charlotte Russe that hang out in the bottom of my drawer. (I think they were around 2.50 each!) I have several scoop necks and v necks that I wear for working out or sleeping. As with most super cheap things, the fit is not the greatest! It’s too big in the shoulders, tight around the bust and has no waist definition.

The jeans are one of the four pairs that I cycle though. 28″ inseam, straight leg, dark wash. Very basic as well.

So here’s what I ultimately went with:

T-shirt: Charlotte Russe XS
Cardigan: Forever 21 S
Belt: Forever 21
Jeans: Delia’s straight leg 00P
Bangles: unknown
Necklace: unknown
Black Heels: H&M

Close up:

Omg, I have a waist in there! This is why belts are awesome!

I like forever 21 belts because they’re super cheap and come in a wide range of styles. This is my first time wearing a thick belt and I really like it. Doing the cardigan in an X shape shows off my curves (boobs! I has them!) and allows the vibrant blue of the T-shirt to show.

Normally Forever 21 has really strange and cheap looking clothes, but every so often there’s something in that massive clothing jungle that looks really nice! This sweater is that something. The ruffle embellishment along the placket is fun and kind of classy, and the scoop neck is super flattering. Like most F21 cotton items, shrinks easily in the dryer (which is why I would be careful about buying dresses from there!)

To recap: Boring T-shirt + embellished cardigan + waist defining belt = outfit.

So excited to see the outfits of other petites! (I’m predicting…blazers!)

About ShortieK

No capes!
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Petite Fashion Challenge #6

  1. Shelly Hochhalter Talcott says:

    I love it. The cardigan looks more jcrew than forever21 and I like the thick belt. Nice work.

  2. I found your blog through PFC. You did great with the challenge. I really like the color and also the style of your cardigan. Have a great weekend!

  3. Banhannas says:

    Oh my love that ruffle cardigan! It reminds me of the LOFT cardigan that was on sale awhile back. The beige and blue really looks nice together in the outfit. I never looked into F21 belts but looks like I have to give them a better look next time. =0D

    • ShortieK says:

      The cardigan’s a winner! I know the LOFT cardigan you’re talking about- it sold out before I could buy it so I went with this F21 one instead.
      I really like the wide range of F21′s belts and hair accessories. The belts are really cheap and many of them come in XS. :)

  4. Stylepint says:

    I think you did a wonderful job on this challenge and the ruffled cardigan with the belt really does emphasize your waist! Thanks for participating! =)

    • ShortieK says:

      Thank *you* for doing such a wonderful job organizing this month! The Linky Tools list was so smart and easy to use. I like the look of everyone’s icons! :)

  5. Wow great job, I can’t believe that cardi is from F21, it’s so pretty!

    • ShortieK says:

      Thanks! I know right?!
      Forever21 is such a strange store- somewhere in behind the leopard print leggings and giant off the shoulder sweatshirts with glued-on sequins, there are some nice and simple cheap things!

  6. Agree with the other ladies here…that cardigan is really cute and I’m surprised to hear it’s from Forever 21! The “X shape” is one of my favorite tricks as well…I even wrote a post about it last year. ;)

  7. I love the cardigan! And I agree…belts do wonders. I have a long body and short legs so I try to wear them higher to make my legs appear longer!

    Also, excellent pick with the blog template! I’m using the same one! ;)

    -Lor

    • ShortieK says:

      :D template twinsies!
      I’m the same way- longer torso and super short legs. Wearing belts up higher is something I need to do more often. It’s easier and cheaper than getting platform heels!

  8. Jen HaHA says:

    I like your turquoise top. What a great color for your base. The cardi is great in all its ruffly splendor. And I’m such you on the belt. It dresses up outfits nicely and accents our stuff.
    Check out my try at the PFC #6!

Leave a Reply

